Gestation/Renovation

Have a baby AND renovate a house? Piece of cake!

Selective Memory August 25, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kelli Landes @ 3:13 am

Sometimes I forget I’m pregnant.  Just for a split second, but it’s really strange.  I’ll be sitting on the el and look down and see this giant belly and think, for a split second “Oh my god!  how did I get so fat?”  Then I’ll remember.  Or, I’ll see someone with a baby, and get as far as “I wonder, if I ever have kids, if…” before it hits me that, barring any really awful tragic thing, the “if” is really a moot point.  The weirdest, though, is when I wake up in the middle of the night, and I think “Wow.  What did I eat?  I feel like there’s something alive inside my belly.  That’s really creepy.”  It takes me a little longer to remember at 4am, but eventually I do remember, and then suddenly it’s not really creepy at all, somehow.  I don’t know why that is, but it is.

I hope this doesn’t bode ill for my maternal instincts.  I mean, what if I forget I’m a mom?  If I forget to pick the kid up from day care after work and just go home for an hour or so before I remember?  Or if I’m one of those people on the news who leaves their kid at the grocery store?  I have just gotten to the point where I am fairly confident I won’t leave my wallet behind at a bar somewhere (mostly because it has a chain on it to attach it my jeans or purse…).  Babies make lots more noise than a wallet though, right?

 

Leave a Reply

